phren-z header logo

SCW Logo

Love Song 2014
82” x 84”
by John Babcock


Current Issue
Archived Issues


Dear friends of phren-Z:

Our Spring 2015 - Issue 13 is now online. The live reading for Issue 13 will be held at Bookshop Santa Cruz on Thursday, June 4 at 7:00 pm. Come join us for an evening of original nonfiction and poetry read by:

Danusha Lameris Wallace J Nichols Micah Perks Debra Spencer
Gary Young Refreshments will be served!
Jake Young
This Issue's Artist - John Babcock

Photo by R. R. Jones
John Babcock lives and works at his studio near Santa Cruz, California. His medium is paper, and his work has been shown in over thirty major museums in Europe, the United States and Japan. Shows include “Craft Today ,USA”, organized by the American Craft Museum in New York, “The Artful Object, Recent American Craft” at the Fort Wayne Art Museum, and “The Cutting Edge, New Directions in Hand Made Paper”, organized by the Kalamazoo Institute of Art. He has lectured and conducted workshops throughout the United States and in India including sessions for the Southwest School of Art and Craft in San Antonio, Texas; The University of Wisconsin; The University of Hawaii; The University of California, Santa Barbara; Haystack Mountain School of Crafts; and most recently at the Maharaja Sayajirao University in India. His work is included in many public and private collections including The Museum of Art and Design, New York, New York.

Catamaran Writing Conference at
Pebble Beach


Join the Catamaran team at Pebble Beach for
it's second annual writing conference. This year's workshop leaders include:

Ellen Bass
Toi Derricotte
Scott Huchins
Christian Kiefer
Robin Hemley
Frances Lefkowitz
Elizabeth McKenzie
Octavio Solis
John Straley
David Sullivan
Dan White


Morton Marcus 2015 Poetry Contest:



The 4th Annual Morton Marcus Poetry Contest is now open for submissions through September 1, 2015, accepted online only through phren-Z's Submittable submission page. Entry fee is $15 per submission. Submissions may contain up to three poems. The prize is $1,000.

Entries will be judged by Stephen Kessler in September, winner announced in October, and the winning poem read at the annual Morton Marcus Memorial Poetry Reading at UCSC in November. SUBMIT NOW!



The editors.

Wallace J Nichols
Micah Perks

Danusha Laméris
Debra Spencer
Gary Young
Jake Young

John Babcock

  Current Issue/Home || Archive || FloodLight ||About || Submit || Contact
Copyright © 2011 Santa Cruz Writes - All Rights Reserved